Breadcrumb Navigation

Media Center

Statement from Secretary LaRose on the Signing of Senate Bill 30

COLUMBUS – Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose participated in the Governor's Bill Signing of Senate Bill 30, a law that will create the Women's Suffrage Centennial Commission. The following may be attributed to Secretary LaRose. 

“What this is really about is the generation of young Ohioans — like my daughters and thousands of others — teaching them why this right is worth fighting for," said LaRose.

June 2019 will mark the anniversary of Ohio's ratification of the 19th Amendment. This Commission will spend the next year celebrating, promoting and educating the public not only on the history of the movement but on the impact it has had on our society by highlighting exemplary Ohio women of the past and present.

The Commission will consist of the following members:

  • Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose
  • Two appointments from the Senate President; one from each caucus
  • Two appointments from the Speaker of the House; one from each caucus
  • One member appointment from the Ohio Republican Party Chairman
  • One member appointment from the Ohio Democratic Republican Party
  • Any additional members the Commission recommends

Left to right, Senator Williams, Secretary LaRose, Senator Kunze, Senate President Obhof, First Lady Fran DeWine, Governor Mike DeWine, Former ORP Vice Chairman Mary Anne Christie, Former Speaker Jo Ann Davidson, Executive Director of CSRAB Laura Battocletti, League of Women Voters President Jen Miller, and Ohio History Connection Representative Megan Wood.


Media Contact

Rob Nichols
[email protected]