Breadcrumb Navigation

Media Center

LaRose Refers 18 Voters To Prosecutors For Casting Ballots Twice in 2018 Election

COLUMBUS – Today, Ohio Secretary of State Frank LaRose referred 18 voters to prosecutors for allegedly voting twice in the 2018 General Election. Thanks to a partnership with several other states, a review was conducted that determined 10 Ohioans voted first in another state before casting their ballot a second time in Ohio. The other eight voted first in Ohio before voting again elsewhere.

Ohio is a part of the Electronic Registration Information Center (ERIC), a coalition of states who share data in order to improve the accuracy of voter rolls and enhance voter confidence in elections. A segment of those states utilized their partnership and information sharing to identify individuals who potentially broke the law by voting in two different states.

“One person. One vote. State law makes it abundantly clear that Ohioans may only vote once in an election. The reason is simple and obvious: any additional vote diminishes the value of other votes,” said LaRose. “One of the big reasons voter fraud is so rare is because states are stepping up to enforce the law whenever it is broken.”

The review utilized the data provided by partner states to cross-match with voter history in Ohio. Each potential violation was then investigated individually in coordination with the Secretary of State’s office or local jurisdiction in the additional state. According to state law, the criminal act is the second vote. Thus, another state’s Attorney General will have jurisdiction when the second vote took place in their state and all relevant documentation will be sent to their respective office. In instances where the Ohio vote was second, relevant documentation is being referred to both the Ohio Attorney General and appropriate county prosecutor for investigation. To be clear, it is the duty of the Ohio Attorney General and county prosecutors to determine whether the identified individuals should be prosecuted.

The Ohio counties where referrals have been made are: Cuyahoga (1), Franklin (2), Geauga (1), Hamilton (2), Lorain (1), Medina (1), Summit (1), Wayne (1).

Referral letter to the Ohio Attorney General (PDF)


Media Contact

Rob Nichols
[email protected]