Breadcrumb Navigation

Media Center

Candidate Petition Verifications for the 2022 Primary Election Released

Ohio Secretary of State Directive Informs County Boards of Elections of the Statewide Candidates Who Are Currently Qualified for Ohio's May 3 Primary Election Ballot

Today, the Ohio Secretary of State's office released the list of statewide candidates whose candidate filings have been verified by Ohio's county boards of elections and who are therefore currently eligible to appear on the May 3 primary ballot.

This afternoon, Ohio's 88 county boards of elections were notified of the list of qualifying statewide candidates by Directive 2022-24, which is available here.

The Directive containing the official form of ballot for the May 3, 2022 Primary Election will be issued on February 22, 2022 (after the filing deadline for write-in candidates). Protests against partisan candidates’ petitions must be filed by 4 p.m. on February 18, 2022.

It should be noted that the list of candidates below includes only those who will be running statewide. Ohio Senate and House candidates did not file with the Secretary of State, but instead filed with the board of elections in the most populous county in the contested district.

The following candidates are eligible for the May 3, 2022, primary election ballot:

U.S. Senate
Republican: Matt Dolan, Mike Gibbons, Josh Mandel, Neil Patel, Mark Pukita, Jane Timken, JD Vance
Democrat: Morgan Harper, Traci TJ Johnson, Tim Ryan

Ohio Governor
Republican: Joe Blystone, Mike DeWine, Ron Hood, Jim Renacci
Democrat: John Cranley, Nan Whaley

Ohio Attorney General
Republican: Dave Yost
Democrat: Jeff Crossman

Ohio Auditor
Republican: Keith Faber
Democrat: Taylor Sappington

Ohio Secretary of State
Republican: John Adams, Frank LaRose
Democrat: Chelsea Clark

Ohio Treasurer
Republican: Robert Sprague
Democrat: Scott Schertzer

Ohio Supreme Court Chief Justice
Republican: Sharon Kennedy
Democrat: Jennifer Brunner

Ohio Supreme Court Justice
Republican: Pat DeWine, Pat Fischer
Democrat: Terri Jamison, Marilyn Zayas

# # #

Media Contact

Rob Nichols
[email protected]