Breadcrumb Navigation

Media Center

Statewide Independent Candidate Certification for the 2022 General Election Announced

Today, the Ohio Secretary of State's office announced the results of independent candidate certifications for the November 8, 2022 General Election. In all, four candidates filed to run as independent candidates statewide in the fall.

To avoid any potential conflict, all decisions in the independent candidate certification process concerning the Ohio Secretary of State race were officially and formally delegated to Assistant Secretary of State Kimberly Burns, as Secretary Frank LaRose will also appear on the November ballot.

Under Ohio law, candidates wishing to run as an independent are required to obtain 5,000 valid signatures from registered Ohio voters. For the 2022 General Election, the nominating petitions were required to be filed with the Ohio Secretary of State by May 2 and were then distributed to the 88 boards of elections for signature verification. The deadline for the county boards to certify the validity of petition signatures was July 5.

Subject to protest under the timeline and process permitted by state law, the following candidate will appear as an unaffiliated candidate on the General Election ballot:

  • Terpsehore Tore Maras - Secretary of State

The following candidates will not appear as unaffiliated candidates on the General Election ballot:

  • F. Patrick Cunnane - Mary E. Cunnane, Governor and Lieutenant Governor
  • Niel J. Petersen - Michael V. Stewart, Governor and Lieutenant Governor
  • Kelli Prather - United States Senate

# # #

Media Contact

Rob Nichols
[email protected]